Options are good

9 Jan

Day 9 of the 100 Days Challenge: made myself do a 30 minute treadmill workout. I was tired this afternoon and the thought of skipping a workout today crossed my mind. But I’m determined to lose some weight and get myself in better shape, so I did it.

Today I had my first of six Individualized Health Planning sessions (IHPs) that I can do through work. This first session is where you set your goals and plans for attaining them. My main goals are to 1) improve my overall health and fitness, and 2) lose weight. My wellness consultant loved the idea of the 100 Days Challenge. When we talked about my plans for exercise, I realized that I now have lots of options: treadmill or other running, stability ball workout (with or without resistance or weights), running dogs, learning to skate ski and eventually skijoring with a dog, and Zumba. My next IHP session is in two weeks and we’ll assess how things are going with my exercise plan. I hope to report that I’m on Day 23 of the 100 Days Challenge 🙂

My diet is another aspect of my life that I’m working on: eating less, eating healthier, and eating better food. We recently purchased Mark Bittman’s Kitchen Express: 404 inspired seasonal dishes you can make in 20 minutes or less at the recommendation of Chris’ brother. We like Mark Bittman‘s simple, healthy, quality recipes plus he’s a runner and contributor to Runner’s World.  I purchased many of his recommended pantry items over the weekend and tonight Chris made the first recipe: Potato Cumin Curry. It’s just potatoes, onion, curry powder, cumin, coconut milk, and chickpeas. It was quite easy and tasty. Looking forward to making more from this book.

Finally, thanks to the FitFluential twitter feed I discovered a new blog to check out with more healthy smoothie instructions and recipes. Woo hoo! More things to try!

One Response to “Options are good”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yes, those are minus signs « Golden Heart Running - January 16, 2012

    […] really cold like it’s been. We’ve made a couple more recipes from our new Mark Bittman book. The White Bean Stew was awesome and super-easy. Crisp Tofu and Asian Greens in Peanut Sauce was […]

Leave a Reply

